A visionary project conceived by the community requires a great team of dedicated volunteers and professionals to guide its implementation.

Current Headwaters Heroes

Board Leadership Team

Dawn Schriewer
Board President

Leonard Dougal
Board Vice-President

Jordan Matney                 Board Secretary

Gretchen Reuwer                  Board Member

Brent Lundmark                  Board Member At Large

Shawn Schoen-108871

Shawn Schorn      
Board Member At Large

Elizabeth Bowerman    
Board Member


Nancy Pappas
Managing Director

Katie Woollven
Assistant Manager

victoria_headshot_1 (1)

Victoria Broderick
Watershed Educator

Jack Downey Headshot

Jack Downey
Program Coordinator

Technical Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Technical Advisory Committee (“TAC”) is to support the mission of the Headwaters at the Comal (“Headwaters”) by providing strategic support and oversight on the Headwaters Research and Conservation Programs.

Robert Mace, Chair
Executive Director, The Meadows Center for Water and the Environment

Cindy Hooper, Vice-Chair
Community Member

Mark Enders, Secretary
Watershed Program Manager, City of New Braunfels

Todd Ahlman
Director, Center of Archaeological Studies
Texas State University

Roger Biggers
Community Member

David Britton
Deputy Center Director, US Fish & Wildlife Service
San Marcos Aquatic Research Center

Chad Furl
Chief Science Officer, Edward Aquifer Authority Habitat Conservation Plan

Nathan Pence
Executive Manager, Environmental Science & Community Affairs
Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority

Katherine Romans
Executive Director, Hill Country Alliance

Benjamin Schwartz
Director, Edwards Aquifer Research & Data Center
Texas State University

Jennifer Walker
Senior Program Manager, National Wildlife Federation

Casey Walther

Capital Campaign Committee

A dedicated team of community members working to obtain the necessary resources for the success of this legacy conservation project.

Rusty Brockman
Mayor, City of New Braunfels

Shelly Bujnoch
Territory Representative, Paychex

Chandler Gray
Community Member

Robin Jeffers
Owner, J&R Gymnastics

Brit King
President/CEO, New Braunfels Area Community Foundation

Betty Kyle
Community Member

Katie Lynch
Real Estate Advisor, Core35 Realty

Michael Meek
Community Member

Ted McKinnon
Community Member

Reagan Parks
Executive Director, NBISD Education Foundation

Gretchen Reuwer
Director of Electric Services, New Braunfels Utilities

Natalie Rougeux
CEO, Rougeux & Associates

Fernando Yarrito
Retired Executive Director, Development, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center

Carroll Hoffmann, Advisory
Founder, Hoffmann Financial Services

Pat & Becky Wiggins, Advisory
Owner, Wiggins Company

Education Taskforce

Providing oversight and guidance on the development of relevant formal TEKS-based and informal community education programs.

Kevin Alley
World Geography, New Braunfels High School Ninth Grade Center

Micki Clark
7th Grade Science, New Braunfels Middle School

Kristen Kirsch
7th Grade Science, Canyon Middle School

Susan Hankins
The Meadows Center for Water and the Environment-Texas State University


Mitchell Ray
AP Environmental Science, Canyon High School

Kaye Smith
3rd Grade DL Math, Carl Schurz Elementary School

Melonie Steele
6th Grade Science, Danville Middle School

Anissa Villarreal
5th Grade Math/Science, Voss Farms Elementary School

Want the latest updates?

Sign up with your email address to receive news and updates.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.